San Diego Sports Commission » UCI BMX Supercross

The San Diego Sports Commission and the Arco US Olympic Training Center in Chula Vista partnered with the American Bicycle Association to host the inaugural ABA National UCI BMX Supercross Series September 17-20, 2009. Races took place throughout the day on Saturday with the main event taking place on Saturday night. The UCI BMC Supercross Series is the most prestigious elite level BMC events in the World. UCI, the international governing body of cycling is tasked with creating the criteria for the Olympic competition for the sport of Bmx. UCS Supercross events attract riders from the around the World as these events are critical for qualifying to participate in the Olympics.


As the local host committee the Sports Commission assisted ABA with budget alleviation in a number of event services. Working with our preferred partners, the SDSC was able to help ABA lower the cost of fencing, security services, bleacher rentals, and tent rentals.

The Sports Commission was also pleased to help ABA host their annual BMX Hall of Fame induction ceremony. Over 300 people packed into the Hall of Champions to recognize some of BMX’s most storied riders and personalities. The seven honorees represent BMX racing and Freestyle BMX from the 1970’s and  1980’s and one industry contributor. The inductees are Danny Oakley (1960’s and 1970’s pioneer); D.D. Leone (1980’s Professional Racer); Troy Lee (BMX Industry contributor, Troy Lee Designs); R.L. Osborn and Mike Buff (legendary BMX Action Trick Team); Eddie Fiola (freestyle Pioneer); Jeremy McGrath (past BMXer lifetime achievement award). There will also be special recognition given to Clayton John (retired ABA President) and Bernie Anderson (retired ABA Chairman of the Board), current BMX Hall of Fame members, for their recent induction into the U.S. Bicycling Hall Of Fame in Davis , CA .